University Of Pretoria Computer Science Department

3'rd year CS student nominated for top 200 young South Africans

Jaco Bezuidenhout, a third year student at the Department of Computer Science and a director of MTG Conservation Services, has been nominated one of Mail and Guardians' top 200 young South Africans to make a difference in the Science and Technology category.

At the age of 21,. Jaco Bezuidenhout, with the help of House4Hack, started his first company, Xrobotix. Xrobotics focuses on educating high-school students using Intel’s Arduino electronics platform. A year later Jaco and Harry Pretorius formed the M!nd The Gap (MTG) Group -- an innovation company that develops products and systems in various industries.

Read More
The Information Technology Building


Welcome to the Department of Computer Science at the University of Pretoria.

Our main objective is to explore and research the scientific basis of new technologies. We furthermore promote the proliferation of reliable, robust and innovative computing and information technologies into the IT industry in South Africa.

Excellence in computer science education, the development of internationally and nationally recognised research initiatives, and strong industry collaboration, are the driving factors underpinning the success of the department.

Additional News


Remember Me
All content copyright © Department of Computer Science, School of IT, University of Pretoria, South Africa